“Yeah, I’m taking my apology back! I stand by calling her a dumb bitch, just like she’s standing by her words from yesterday too.”

That from bloggoceleb Perez Hilton, the self-proclaimed Queen of All Media, on his ongoing spat with Miss USA finalist Carrie Prejean, a 21-year old Californian with a knack for honesty.

Perez, one of the judges for the event, asked Miss Prejean to comment on the issue of same-sex marriage during the interview section of the pageant:

Vermont recently became the fourth state to legalize same-sex marriage. Do you think every state should follow suit? Why or why not?

Miss California’s answer was honest forthcoming, and intelligent:

I think it’s great that Americans are able to choose one or the other. We live in a land that you can choose same-sex marriage or opposite marriage and, you know what, in my country and my family I think that I believe that a marriage should be between a man and a woman. No offense to anyone out there but that’s how I was raised and that’s how I think it should be between a man and a woman.

That response embodies everything that is great about America…people should have a choice, and that choice includes the ability to disagree with the choices made by other people.

Perez, on the other hand, apparently believes that freedom is something only he should enjoy, and that his opinion on this issue should be the only acceptable opinion.

Sadly, Perez Hilton (real name Mario Lavandeira) apparently lacks the intelligence to understand that opposition to same-sex marriage is basically grounded on the belief that the freedom to marry the individual of their choice is a freedom only some should be allowed to enjoy, and that the opinion of they who enjoy that freedom is the ONLY acceptable opinion.

Mario “Perez Hilton” Lavandeira is very bit as much against freedom of choice, as those he seems to detest. Carrie Prejean, in her response, supports the very American ideal of freedom, even as she disagrees with the notion.

Perez should blog less and read more…Voltaire’s “Essay on Tolerance” being a good starting point:

“Think for yourselves and let others enjoy the privilege to do so too.”

Miss Prejean stands by her response, even as she acknowledges the fact that it may in fact have cost her the Miss USA title:

“It did cost me my crown. It is a very touchy subject and [Hilton] is a homosexual, and I see where he was coming from and I see the audience would’ve wanted me to be more politically correct. But I was raised in a way that you can never compromise your beliefs and your opinions for anything.”

Way to go Miss Prejean, you may not hold the title, but you are an American Princess.

As for Perez Hilton…calling Carrie Prejean a dumb bitch is could very well be the highest compliment that a man who changed his name to phonetically approximate the name of the world’s dumbest bitch could think of.

